Millages approved, Gamrat and Campbell win local races

Daniel Pepper Interim Editor

Election results in the Plainwell/Otsego area show local voters approved all millage requests in the Tuesday, Aug. 5, primary.

Vote totals are unofficial until the Allegan County Clerk certifies them.

In Gun Plain Township, voters approved a 2-mill, 10-year road millage by a margin of 482 to 380.

Otsego Township will have its first-ever road millage, 1.5 mills for five years, after a vote of 376 to 275.

The Charles A. Ransom District Library will now have a 0.6-mill operating millage for the next 10 years. The voters of Gun Plain Township, the City of Plainwell and part of Cooper Township chose to approve the tax 1,174 to 746.

In the county commission seat representing the City of Otsego and Otsego Township, Jon Campbell won the Republican primary with 792 votes to Bill Sage’s 594.

In the 80th district state representative race, Cindy Gamrat of Plainwell won the Republican nomination for the seat with which represents much of Allegan County, including Otsego, Plainwell and Gun Plain and Otsego townships.

Voters also approved an Allegan County-wide 911 surcharge and a millage for senior services.

Contact Dan Pepper at or at (269) 673-5534 or (269) 685-9571.

For more election analysis and coverage, pick up a copy of the Aug. 11 issue of The Union Enterprise or subscribe to the e-edition.

Allegan County News
241 Hubbard St.
P.O. Box 189
Allegan, MI 49010
Phone: 269-673-5534
Fax: 269-673-5535

Meet the staff

The Commercial Record
415 Wiley Rd, Suite 105
Douglas, MI 49406

P.O. Box 246
Sauagtuck, MI 49453
Phone: 267-857-2570
Fax: 269-857-4637

The Union Enterprise
P.O. Box 483
Plainwell, MI 49080

AlleganNews is part of Wilcox Newspapers
Copyright 2020, Wilcox Newspapers

Comment Here