Plainwell student rehearse for their production of "The Wizard of Oz," which opens March 18.

Plainwell follows yellow brick road to ‘Oz’

Daniel Pepper (Staff Writer)

The Plainwell High School Music Department will present “The Wizard of Oz” Friday, March 18, Saturday, March 19, and Sunday, March 20.

Performances of the Andrew Lloyd Weber show will be at 7 p.m. Friday and Saturday and at 2 p.m. Sunday.

Tickets cost $15 for main floor seating and $12 for balcony and can be purchased at


The cast includes: Catherine Lemus as Dorothy Gale, Cooper Spratt as Toto, Mariah Crandall as Aunt Em (Emily Gale), Chase King as Uncle Henry (Henry Gale) Garrett McCormick as Zeke, Tyler McClenny as Hickory, Seth Woltanski as Hunk, Lily Cyr as Miss Almira Gulch, Jake Wisnaski as Professor Chester Marvel/Wizard Of Oz, Abby Ernst as Glinda, The Good Witch Of The North, Morgan Smith as The Wicked Witch Of The West, Luke Woltanski as Scare Crow, Tyler Walker as Tin Man, Casey McVoy as Cowardly Lion and Kaleb Tafil as Oz Guard


Principal Dancers include:

Hannah Beauregard, Leah Brady, Mariah Crandall, Olivia Crandall, Sydney Pressey and Maya Scott


Citizens Of Munchkinland (Middle school cast) include: Mayor—Kendalyn VanDenBerg, Coroner—Rebecca Ruimveld,  Barrister—Amira Sieber, Munchkin Teachers—Ashleigh Freestone and Hailee Lamorandier


Scarecrow/Tin Man Soloists include: Three Crows—Jacqueline Brignall, Elizabeth Burch, Olivia Harlow; and Three Trees—Mary Bauman, Marlee Burgess, Mya Veen


Poppies and Snowmen principal dancers (middle school cast) include: Naomi DeLaet, Lindsey DeVisser, Sierra Miller, Bri Rasmussen, Rebecca Ritzema, Elisa Russell, Aryn Scholten and Jacqui West


Ozians principal dancers include: Mary Bauman, Ella Betz, Jacqueline Brignall, Elizabeth Burch, Marlee Burgess, Lily Cyr, Thomas Engelmann, Ashleigh Freestone, Olivia Harlow, Cassandra Keator, Forrest Keesee, Chase King, Hailee Lamorandier, Isabella Lemus, Delaney Lentz, Brieanna Lopez, Tyler McClenny, Garrett McCormick, Madeline Moore, Paige Papesh, Courtney Stickels, Kevin Tafil, Mya Veen, Seth Woltanski, Samantha Wright and Morgan Wright-Koehrn


Winkies include:

Kevin Tafil as the Winkie General and Thomas Engelmann, Forrest Keesee, Chase King, Tyler McClenny, Garrett McCormick and Seth Woltanski


Flying Monkeys include: Aryn Scholten as Nikko (Commander of the Monkeys) and Naomi DeLaet,  Lindsey DeVisser, Sierra Miller, Bri Rasmussen, Rebecca Ritzema and Elisa Russell


Jitterbugs and Ghosts include: Mariah Crandall as Jitterbug (lead dancer), and principal dancers Mary Bauman, Ella Betz, Jacqueline Brignall, Elizabeth Burch, Marlee Burgess, Lily Cyr, Olivia Harlow, Cassandra Keator, Isabella Lemus, Delaney Lentz, Brieanna Lopez, Madeline Moore, Paige Papesh, Rebecca Ruimveld, Amira Sieber, Courtney Stickels, Kendalyn VanDenBerg, Mya Veen, Samantha Wright, Morgan Wright‐Koehrn,  (middle school cast) Claire Awe, Evan Beauregard, Savanna Bliss, Jeremy Bolda, Carly Braginton, Mackenzie Bruce, Kyra Burgess, Meg Burgess, Trenton Christy, Megan Gernaat, Daniel Harlow, Emma Lindsey, Cailin Smith, Megan Stefl and Charley Truitt


Pit orchestra (directed by David Hepinstall) includes: Mark Doster-Piano, Jonathan Robey-WMU violin 1, Erin Gilbert-Plainwell Middle School Choral Director violin 2, Lukas Stanley, WMU viola, Taylor Crow, WMU cello, Kyle Pitcher, WMU bass, Dana Plyley and Taylor Mansheim-flute, Noah Baker- clarinet, Meredith Snyder-English horn/oboe, Courtney Forsythe-soprano saxophone, Kylie Gage-alto saxophone/ bass clarinet, Cam Butler-tenor saxophone, Cailla Moss-bari saxophone,  Nathan Andres and Tessa Vann-trumpet, Jasmine Vann, Grant Sleeman-French horn, Brandon Busk and Mitchell Nelson- trombone, Carter Zamora and Max Wicklund-percussion and Julie Widman-synthesizer


The crew includes: stage manager Rachael Bosch, backstage Derrek Phaneuff, Prune Hardy, Sheri Wood, Benjiro Hubbarth, Kyla Glascock, Ethan Lindenbach and  Sarah Locey; techs Sam Witteveen, Jeremy Guarino, Trey Morrison and Graham Siver; Hair/make up: Lilly Cook, Marcia Luchessi and Ashleigh Bomgaars; costumes: Alyssa Fuller, Grace Giffels, Shaunda Miller and Toto’s managers Brooke Whisler and Liana Hegedus.



Kaechele Publications, Inc.
241 Hubbard St.
P.O. Box 189
Allegan, MI 49010
Phone: 269-673-5534
Fax: 269-673-5535

Meet the staff

The Union Enterprise
P.O. Box 483
Plainwell, MI 49080

The Commercial Record
3217 Blue Star Hwy.
P.O. Box 246
Saugatuck, MI 49453
269-857-8187 or 269-857-4637

Comment Here